An ensemble of half-timbered constructions form the centre of the town of Heubach.
Visitors will particularly enjoy the Town Hall (1581), the Market’s Fountain (1777), the tower (1473), one of the entry towers of the Churchyard which was once surrounded by walls and the Protestant church, which originally was a roman basilica with a depicted passion cycle (1581).
The tower was part of a defensive wall around the church. Remains of the wall, which used to be about 3m higher until the upper part of the framework was dismantled, are still present behind the choir.
The name of the town ruler Jörg von Woellwarth is displayed above the front wall and the archway mentions the year 1437, which has not been confirmed. Until the end of the 19th century, the tower was used alternately as a local jail or as quarters for the sacristan. In 1924, the first hostel of the Schwäbischen Albvereins hiking club was inaugurated. There is also a tower passage with iron-barred gate from 1931.
The Church dedicated to the diocesan patron Bishop Ulrich von Augsburg originally was a small late roman pillar basilica and the foundations of its altar as well as its foundation walls were discovered and partially uncovered in 1968.
Around 1440, the nave was extended to the West and a rib-vaulted gothic choir was added on the Eastern side. The tower stood on its own on the South side of the choir.
The church was part of a fortified structure.
In 1947, the neighbouring graveyard was transferred to Lautern. Important modifications and renovations were performed in 1968-1970 and 1988-1990.
Heubach Castle houses the only Corsetry Museum of Germany. Adorned with valuable exhibits of the female vanity, it documents the history of the corsetry industry from the 18th century until today.
Experience school history!
In its historical classroom, the booster club Schwäbisch Gmünder Schulmuseum e.V. offers schools, teachers and other groups the opportunity to experience a class as taught around 1900.
Since December 2008, the historical classroom is housed in the knight’s hall of the Heubach Castle. Adequately furnished and decorated, it radiates a unique charm from days long gone. A special focus is set on the various types of handwriting (Current, Deutsche Schrift, Sütterlin, latin and simplified writing: the German Schulausgangschrift), the punishments of the time and subjects such as local history, manual work and religion.
House “Anna Vetter”
The “Anna Vetter” House is the place to be for anyone wishing to experience how “simple people” used to live at the turn of the 20st century.
Heubach Police Museum
The police museum was created in the 80’s by an initiative of retired inspector Dieter Zellmer.
The exhibits were originally displayed in Mr Zellmer’s office. Since the beginning of the 90’s, a dedicated room is provided free of charge by the town of Heubach.
During the 90’s, the Woellwarth Castle built in 1524 was extensively renovated with great attention to detail.
With its treasures and construction details, the castle is one of the most striking buildings in Heubach. Always worth a visit!
The building hosts the public library and the museums of local history and corsetry.
Click here for more details.
The fascinating landscape around the Rosenstein.
The Rosenstein Mountain with its mighty rocks and pre-Christian ring-walls, with the castle ruins and the beautiful view is a great excursion destination.
The Rosenstein Bridge
The Rosenstein Bridge, which was built thanks to a donation of the King of Württemberg, allows visitors to reach the ruins.
The bridge was inaugurated on May, 22nd, 1892. For its 100-years anniversary, the edifice was extensively renovated.
Caves around Heubach
The nicest and best-known caves on Rosenstein Mountain are the “kleine Scheuer” (the small barn), the “Groβe Scheuer” (large barn), the “Haus” (House), the “Dreieingangshöhle” (cave with the 3 entrances) and “Finsteres Loch” (dark hole)
Water no longer flows through these caves, except for the mysterious and fabled Teufelsklinge.